Friday, March 3, 2017

19 out of 10 thousand

"    "

Your story sounds wrong.

That's too bad.  Got a better one?

Maybe I can find one.

Blood.  Quite a lot of blood.
Is that so?
I think we'll let the police in on this.  We'll have some law.
Yeah.  Why not?

Who are you, soldier?
Marlowe's my name; I'm a private detective.
Who's the girl?
A client of mine.  Geiger tried to throw a loop on her, so we came up here to talk things over.
Convenient, the door being open when you didn't have a key.

Yeah, wasn't it?  By the way, how'd you happen to have one?
That any of your business?
I could make it my business.
I could make your business mine.
Oh, you wouldn't like it.  The pay's too small.

EDDIE MARS:  All right.  I own this house.  Geiger's my tenant.  Now what do you think of it?

PHILIP MARLOWE:  You know some nice people.

-- I take them as they come.

{The Big Sleep, 1946}



The American Conservative

"Seven Reasons Police Brutality Is Systemic, Not Anecdotal"

July 2, 2014

--------------------------- [continued] ----------------------- 3.  Consequences for misconduct are minimal.

In central New Jersey, for instance, 99 percent of police brutality complaints are never investigated.  Nor can that be explained away as stereotypical New Jersey corruption.  Only one out of every three accused cops are convicted nationwide, while the conviction rate for civilians is literally double that. 

In Chicago, the numbers are even more skewed:  There were 10,000 abuse complaints filed against the Chicago PD between 2002 and 2004, and just 19 of them "resulted in meaningful disciplinary action." 

On a national level, upwards of 95 percent of police misconduct cases referred for federal prosecution are declined by prosecutors because, as reported in USA Today, juries "are conditioned to believe cops, and victims' credibility is often challenged." 

Failure to remedy this police / civilian double standard cultivates an abuse-friendly legal environment.

4.  Settlements are shifted to taxpayers.

Those officers who are found guilty of brutality typically find the settlement to their victims paid from city coffers.  Research from Human Rights Watch reveals that in some places, taxpayers "are paying three times for officers who repeatedly commit abuses:  once to cover their salaries while they commit abuses; next to pay settlements or civil jury awards against officers; and a third time through payments into police 'defense' funds provided by the cities." 

In larger cities, these settlements easily cost the public tens of millions of dollars annually while removing a substantial incentive against police misconduct.

5.  Minorities are unfairly targeted.

"Simply put," says University of Florida law professor Katheryn K. Russell, "the public face of a police brutality victim is a young man who is Black or Latino." 

In this case, research suggests perception matches reality.  To give a particularly striking example, one Florida city's "stop and frisk" policy has been explicitly aimed at all black men. 

Since 2008, this has led to 99,980 stops which did not produce an arrest in a city with a population of just 110,000.  One man alone was stopped 258 times at his job in four years, and arrested for trespassing while working on 62 occasions.  

Failure to address this issue communicates to police that minorities are a safe target for abuse.

---------------------------- [2014.  The American Conservative]


Blogging Congress (continued)


District 1    Louie Gohmert     Republican
District 2    Ted Poe     Republican
District 3    Sam Johnson     Republican
District 4    John Ratcliffe     Republican
District 5    Jeb Hensarling     Republican
District 6    Joe Barton     Republican
District 7    John Culberson     Republican
District 8    Kevin Brady     Republican
District 9    Al Green     Democrat
District 10    Michael T. McCaul     Republican

District 11    K. Michael Conaway     Republican
District 12    Kay Granger     Republican
District 13    Mac Thornberry     Republican
District 14    Randy Weber     Republican
District 15    Vicente Gonzalez     Democrat
District 16    Beto O'Rourke     Democrat
District 17    Bill Flores     Republican
District 18    Sheila Jackson Lee     Democrat
District 19    Jodey Arrington     Republican

District 20    Joaquin Castro     Democrat
District 21    Lamar Smith     Republican
District 22    Pete Olson     Republican
District 23    Will Hurd     Republican
District 24    Kenny Marchant     Republican
District 25    Roger Williams     Republican
District 26    Michael Burgess     Republican
District 27    Blake Farenthold     Republican

District 28    Henry Cuellar     Democrat
District 29    Gene Green     Democrat
District 30    Eddie Bernice Johnson     Democrat
District 31    John Carter     Republican
District 32    Pete Sessions     Republican
District 33    Marc Veasey     Democrat
District 34    Filemon Vela     Democrat
District 35    Lloyd Doggett     Democrat
District 36    Brian Babin     Republican


District 1    Rob Bishop     Republican
District 2    Chris Stewart     Republican
District 3    Jason Chaffetz     Republican
District 4    Mia Love     Republican


At Large    Peter Welch     Democrat

Virgin Islands
At Large    Stacey Plaskett     Democrat


District 1    Robert J. Wittman     Republican
District 2    Scott Taylor     Republican
District 3    Robert C. Scott     Democrat
District 4    A. Donald McEachin     Democrat
District 5    Thomas Garrett     Republican
District 6    Bob Goodlatte     Republican

District 7    Dave Brat     Republican
District 8    Don Beyer     Democrat
District 9    Morgan Griffith     Republican
District 10    Barbara Comstock     Republican
District 11    Gerald E. "Gerry" Connolly     Democrat


District 1    Suzan DelBene     Democrat
District 2    Rick Larsen     Democrat
District 3    Jaime Herrera Beutler     Republican
District 4    Dan Newhouse     Republican
District 5    Cathy McMorris Rodgers     Republican

District 6    Derek Kilmer     Democrat
District 7    Pramila Jayapal     Democrat
District 8    David G. Reichert     Republican
District 9    Adam Smith     Democrat
District 10    Denny Heck     Democrat

West Virginia